230th blog … lindulan daw!


The Valley Fault System,  known before as the Marikina Valley Fault System is  a group of dextral strike-slip fault which extends from San MateoRizal to Taguig City on the south; running through the cities of Makati, Marikina, Paranaque and Taguig.

The fault has two segments,  the West Valley Fault and East Valley Fault both located in the city of Marikina.

The west segment, known as the Western Marikina Fault was one of the two fault segments of the Valley Fault System which runs through the cities of Marikina, Pasig, Muntinlupa and moves in a dominantly a sinistral and dextral strike-slip motion.

The West Fault is capable of producing large scale earthquakes on its active phases with a magnitude of 7 or higher.

The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology has reported that the Marikina West Valley fault line, one of the active faults in the country, is ripe for movement because it has not moved for 200…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s